washing lines

one of my readers suggested this lovely book ‘Washing Lines’  a collection of poems – all the poems have something to do with washing and laundry reflecting many human emotions to do with family, relationships and memory.

I stop Writing the Poem

Tess Gallagher

to fold the clothes. No matter who lives

or who dies, I’am still a woman.

I’ll always have plenty to do.

I bring the arms of his shirt

together. Nothing can stop

our tenderness. I’ll get back

to the poem. I’ll get back to being

a woman. But for now

there’s a shirt, a giant shirt

in my hands, and somewhere a small girl

standing next to her mother

watching to see how it’s done.

2 thoughts on “washing lines

Leave a Reply

