the danish girl

i knew that there was lots of criticism with this film, but i really enjoyed it, not only for its beautiful costumes and settings, but because it made me realise the struggle and anxiety that some people have about their sexuality – so strong that they would risk their lives for change.

i must be going through a tearful stage of my life, its not only films that start me off, but yesterday with the news of bowie i burst into tears all day.  i ask myself how and why a person i have never met can create such emotion and deep feeling – someone so far removed from my own life – but i realise that bowie appeared at that stage of my life when my own self desire, creativity and need to do something different emerged and so with his death glimmers a reality of what is to come to all of us……

have always loved this helmut newton image

bowie

 

Leave a Reply

