M train

I am just finishing reading the wonderful M Train by Patti Smith – her follow up from the exceptionally ‘Just kids’.  it took me a while to get into it, as there seems to be no running storyline, as she starts the book “Its not so easy writing about nothing”  – you realise that you are led inside the mind and dreams of this amazingly creative woman – her thoughts, her sadness, her daily coffee, her life, her brilliant mind……

my favourite paragraph is towards the end and cemented what an amazing piece of poetry, wisdom and soul Patti has created with this book.

“we want things that we cannot have. We seek to reclaim a certain moment, sound, sensation. I want to hear my mother’s voice. I want to see my children as children. Hands small, feet swift.  Everything changes. Boy grown, father dead, daughter taller than me, weeping from a bad dream.  Please stay forever, I say to the things that I know. Don’t go. Don’t grow. “

i found this beautiful poetry book , collected poems by  C Day Lewis in Any amount of books on charring cross road – i am sucker for clean simple graphics and this edition from the 1950’s caught my eye.

book17Nov2015_0043 book17Nov2015_0042

3 thoughts on “M train

  1. I have very little patience in sticking with books that don’t grab me in the first few chapters, it’s a fault, I know, because I realise I might be missing out on a potentially great book.. It happened with Franzen’s, The Corrections. It wasn’t until all my friends who’d read it told me I’d made a huge mistake that I went back to it and realised I had indeed made a huge mistake. That’s the risk one takes of not sticking with a book I suppose..! Happy Sunday X

    Like

  2. *Addendum* That’s actually an exaggeration, when I say ‘the first few chapters’, I actually mean about a quarter of a way into the book..

    Like

    1. i nearly gave up, but Robert kept telling me how amazing it is and that its difficult to write about nothing, which is what she starts of saying – but as you keep on going, the chapters get better and better. you have to accept that you dont know anything about some of the names that she mentions – and just go with the flow, but some of her quotes simply sum up what you are thinking at times. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

