sweet sixteen

cant believe that my little girl will be 16 today!  its beautiful and sad – a passing of time, a transition into womanhood, a progression, a growing, its everything and yet there is so much for her to do and look forward to in the future – its the taste of being an adult, officially she can get married! always my inspiration, my model,  my pride and joy,  my beautiful maude – i thank you for all the times you have patiently sat, ran, walked, poised for my photos!

She was only sixteen, only sixteen I loved her so But she was too young to fall in love And I was too young to know We’d laugh and we’d sing And do the little things That made my heart glow But she was too young to fall in love And I was too young to know Why did I give my heart so fast It never will happen again But I was a mere lad of sixteen I’ve aged a year since then She was only sixteen, only sixteen With eyes that would glow But she was too young to fall in love And I was too young to know (Then why did you give your heart so fast) Oh, it never will happen again (But you were a mere lad of sixteen) I’ve aged a year since then She was only sixteen, only sixteen With eyes that would glow But she was too young to fall in love And I was too young to know But she was too young to fall in love And I was too young to know Sam Cooke

3 thoughts on “sweet sixteen

  1. lovely photos and a vey happy birthday! Its lovely to see the kids growning, also makes you think of your own plans for life as they need you less, holidays change, everything turns upside down which is scary and sad at times but brings its own excitement also! xxx

    Like

    1. ah, my family seems to have grown bigger – more of them at birthday dinners and holidays, but its lovely to see them all! have a lovely day, why is it so cold and windy now that I am back in london x

      Like

  2. Happy birthday to Maude, she is indeed a beautiful young lady. My own daughter is going to be 14 at Christmas and I can imagine exactly how you feel, wanting them to grow and spread their wings but wishing they wouldn’t just for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

