cigala

now that the winter months are on us, I find myself hankering for the warmth of spain – even in the winter months you can get bright sunshine days, though in the evenings it can be cold.  Spanish tapas has become a popular eating past- time in London.  When I am not in spain, I go to savour my favourite foods and remind myself of what I am missing.

I went to Cigala for the first time again in many years and was quite impressed by the wide choice of tapas –  Lambs Conduit street is a lovely street to stroll down for shopping too, much more civilised than the centre of town.

My alltime favourite restaurant in London is Moro, which is influenced not only by spain, but morocco too.  Moro is in Exmouth Market and has a vibrant atmosphere, as well as wonderful inventive food.  Iberica in Great Portland Street has tasty tapas, and also has great spanish products for sale, such as olive oil and manchego cheese – service is very fast and the tapas very tasty and of a high quality.    El Parador in Eversholt Street is an informal restaurant serving authentic taps and its not too expensive.   There is of course, the famous Brindisa, whose brilliant shop is in Borough Market,  and now has 3 restaurants including soho and south kensington.  On a Friday, we love to queue for the tasty Chorizo sandwiches.    Fino in Charlotte Street is a lovely restaurant to take guests in the evening, quite grown up.

I can’t deny that I have missed Whitstable dreadfully and there happens to be  a great tapas place in Whitstable, William and Brown on the high street;  they also own the deli opposite, Browns Deli that sells great salads and take out snacks.

conil_0018 (1)

2 thoughts on “cigala

  1. I have to say Moro is always lovely, I would also recommend Esteban in Crouch End which is amazing. Whitstable is such a lovely place and we go quite often as my daughter is at Kent uni though we have been visiting since she was a baby jo jo’s is a fave there too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

