in youth is pleasure

a poem for maude whose birthday is today – still so young, but even i realise how quick the years are passing.

IN a harbour grewn asleep whereas I lay,
The birds sang sweet in the middes of the day,
I dreamed fast of mirth and play:
In youth is pleasure, in youth is pleasure.

Methought I walked still to and fro,
And from her company I could not go—
But when I waked it was not so:
In youth is pleasure, in youth is pleasure.

Therefore my heart is surely plight
Of her alone to have a sight
Which is my joy and heart’s delight:
In youth is pleasure, in youth is pleasure.

Robert Wever 1550

taken from Penguin’s Poems for Life, selected by Laura Barber

ava_maude_6901 (1)

 

Leave a Reply

