poem for the day

st john stephen wrote this beautiful poem which i simply had to share…..

GERANIUMS

The  work which is
The hand in constant repetition
In sensual meditation

She loves me, she loves me not…….

Each leaf  to pick
When it  no longer feeds
But weighs

She loves me, she loves me not……

Each petal dropped
Scarlet like blood, like love
The twin agents of our world

She loves me, she loves me not……

The healing cycle
Of  hand to scent to leaf
From leaf to scent and back to hand

She loves me, she loves me not……

And from there quickly
To  hand to heart
And heart to soul

She loves me, she loves me not……

For scent and body
Are but language curled
Like a leaf

She loves, she loves…….

This is her work unfurled

not only a brilliant gardener but a talented poet too.  i know these are not geraniums, but anenomes are some of my all time favourites.  i love the intensity of colour and the velvet like petals – nature creates the most beautiful of colours.

Leave a Reply

